Take a step back in time as you explore the Chateau de la Verrerie. This iconic place of Le Creusot’s fascinating industrial history takes visitors on a journey of discovery!
The story begins in the late eighteenth century when the trend of crystal hits France. The Royal Crystal and Glass Factory of Queen Marie-Antoinette is established in Le Creusot in 1786 and operates until 1832, employing 350 workers in the production of crystal, torches, chandeliers and crystal tableware for the luxury of French aristocracy and bourgeoisie.
After production ceased, the building was bought in 1837 by the Schneider brothers and became the residence of the Schneider family, forge masters and owners of the Creusot factories. The Schneider family refurbished, embellished and renamed the site "Château de la Verrerie" to turn it into a prestigious reception venue for its distinguished business guests, visiting heads of state, government members, or corporate partners traveling through the region.
Nowadays, the Château de la Verrerie houses different interesting spaces to visit: the Museum of Man and Industry, the splendid Little Theater that Eugène II Schneider built in one of the conical halls, and the Industry Pavilion. All year round, the Chateau de la Verrerie hosts a variety of events, temporary exhibitions, visits, educational activities and workshops.
A visit of the Chateau de la Verrerie is incomplete without exploring the vast landscaped park and gardens covering 28 acres of greenery surrounding the Chateau, boasting French gardens, ponds, an ancient arboretum, an animal farm and a playground for children.